Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Environmental issues are too complex to be handled by individual.

The rate at which natural and human activities are affecting our immediate environment is alarming. With several damages that have been recorded in my neighborhood over the years, I need no one to convince me that it is about time that people come together to make a change. Personally, I believe that environment occurrences transcend what can be managed by an individual. There are two reasons why I feel this way which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, there is a saying that two good heads are better than one. In other words, the extent to which a group of five well equipped individuals will go obviously would be farther than a single person. My personal experience is a compelling example to illustrate this point. Three years ago, I was in my penultimate year of study in the university and the institution demands that every student is sent on an internship to get hands-on experience in their respective field of study. As a mining engineering trainee, I interned at a granite aggregate quarry. During my training, the first environmental problem I identified was emission if dust and particulate matter into the neighboring communities to the quarry. I thought it wise to make a change since I was originally poised to serving my community. Hence, I singlehandedly made some fliers and went around the communities, visiting one house and the other, to sensitize them on the effects of air pollution. I did this for a complete week and all I could notice was that very few number of people gave me an audience. One would say he is busy and the other would say she is used to inhaling dust after all. So, I deemed it fit to carry other six interns in the company who were from different institutions along. Our coming together as a team eventually wrought wonders that cannot be forgotten in the community. The town's occupants gave us their maximum attention seeing us in group and they were convinced that air pollution is of bad influence. Had I not requested the help of my colleagues, my efforts to manage the environmental conditions would have continually proven abortive.

Furthermore, the place of money in alleviating the problems in our environment cannot be overemphasized. We may find it difficult to do certain things or cover certain areas in our pursuit of sane environment if there is not enough financial support.

For instance, upon my graduation from the University, I worked with a mineral processing company in Lagos, Nigeria. After a while, I discovered that the company actually dumps the wastes products of their valuable minerals in an abandoned land close to a small community. This was really a source of groundwater pollution to the occupant of that area who depends solely on well water. To mitigate this problem, I thought of donating twenty pipe borne water to the community. However, the cost of achieving this project was so huge that I couldn't bear it alone. So, I wrote a letter to five of my friends for sponsorship. Eventually, the project was successful and the problem of groundwater pollution facial the community was eradicated. This example clearly demonstrate how limited a single person can be in an attempt to solve environmental problems.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that environmental challenges are too complex for an individual to manage singlehandedly, this is because he is limited in extent to which he can go and he may not have the financial capacity to ameliorate the problems.