Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study because acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Education, they say, is the best legacy and if anyone thinks that education is costly, the individual should try ignorance! Several scholars have defined the key word "education" and quiet a lot of publications, articles, and journals have been produced on this general topic of interest. however, education could mean different definition to an individual or the other. Personally, I would define education as acquiring knowledge about everything that is relevant to one's discipline. In other word, when an individual knows a certain thing about every field and (or virtually) all about his/her own field, then he/she is educated. where then do we acquire knowledge about a field or the other? A key example are the citadels of learning. I would mostly agree with this prompt that universities should require every student to take variety of courses outside the students' field of study. however, I would like to rephrase that the students should be required rather to take a variety of "relevant" courses outside the students' field of study based on three reasons that will be highlighted in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, the knowledge of ones field of study may not only be enough for a student to become well rounded and T-shaped as far as education is concerned. There may be need for broadness of horizons and spanning of tentacles beyond the boundary in which a student is actively involved. For instance, as a sophomores in mining engineering, it was part of my course curriculum to take python programming language during my second year of study. one could ask that what does programming have to do with mining engineering? Or of what relevance is the course in order to make mining student approved in his field of study? The truth is that we are in an advanced world where technology has experience a paradigm shift. machines are now being used to replace human efforts most especially in the mines. use of robots are now being incorporated into mining engineering and a key knowledge of robotics is artificial intelligence and machine learning which are solely built on python programming language. so, in this situation, the university required mining engineering students to take python programming language as one of the requirements to earning a degree.

Furthermore, another reason why universities should enrol every student in a variety of courses outside the student's field of study is for students to become well-rounded and relevant in every respect. such that the students can fit into (literally) any job position upon graduation. that is the main purpose of education! if the knowledge I have as a bachelor's degree holder in mining engineering is only limited to my field if study, then I have not actually fulfilled the purpose of education. this is so because as a university graduate, a job opportunity may not or never open up in one's field of study. would that individual remain unemployed for life? Certainly not, if such a student has been thoroughly equipped in every respect. More so, we are in the twenty first century, where an accountant by study is a web developer by practice. this could only have been possible due to extra and relevant knowledge that he/she has garnered right from the university.

To conclude, I would like to state, however, that students should be required to take only the important courses and not extraneous ones that holds no valuable or predictably valuable relevance to their field of study.