“Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study because acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.”

The subject a student studies during his time in a university or college has a huge impact in determining their career and future. Therefore, choosing the subjects one needs to study during his time at university is a very serious thing and one should select his courses after a lot of research and should also think if they like the course they are taking up. Some people suggest that colleges should make it mandatory for students to take courses outside their field of study as it benefits the students get broader understanding. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the statement that students should compulsorily take courses outside their major and argue that they students should be given the option to choose whatever course they want because of the following reasons.

To begin with, knowing a wide variety of things certainly benefits a person as it imbues them with a new sense of thought. But students only get to spend few years at the college or university and in their limited time, is it wise to impose a strict rule that every learner should take a course not related to their field of study? For example, we as humans evolved a lot in the past few decades and it is almost humanly impossible to know all the new technological advances, Due to the abundance of knowledge, in a subject itself there are abundant ideas. In this age of information abundance, getting a good idea on any one field seems highly insurmountable. In such cases, asking the student to take courses unrelated to their field is a bad idea and it only adds burden to the student. Therefore, as illustrated above, forcing every learner to learn things unrelated to their field is unwise

Moreover, most of the student is interested in certain things and would like to learn things that only incite their interest. Ordering such students to study something they are not interested, it will only add stress and makes the lives of the students lives harder. For instance, Albert Einstein, a famous physicist, was enthusiastic about science and mathematics from his childhood but he hated social studies. Due to the rule to study every subject, he faced hardship studying social and ended up hating it. But in physics, his contributions are immense to the mankind and they just changed the way we look at the world with his theories. Imagine, if instead of troubling Einstein to take up Social, things might have been much different and he might have achieved even more -although he has achieved really great things. if he was just taught physics or whatever he was interested in it would benefit him and also humanity. Similarly, there are many like him who like few subjects and hate others. Forcing them to study all materials will only have negative effect

In conclusion, it is unfair to impose one rule on all the students. However, there are certain people who like to learn different things, and due to their interest or their intelligence they can take and manage disparate courses well. Such people would be benefitted from the above rule. If universities do not make any strict rules to follow a certain procedure and instead give the choice to the students it would give students the chance to take whatever is best for them nad it benefits both the university and the students