Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive.
Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.
Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take.
In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.
Leaders are essential part of any organizations. Fate of the companies or institutes depends on the decisions and actions taken by those in leadership roles.
A chief officer can take n number of paths and be successful in leading their crew. What path boss should take depends mostly on the circumstance and the people
they are dealing with. Some people argue that head of a company or any organization should be highly competitive and others adivice that a leader should be friendly
and cooperative with his team. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that a successful leader in must be easy going with his subordinates and should
cooperate with others because of the following reasons.
To begin with, a leader no doubt plays a significant role in the well being of any organization. Along with the leader, they boss's team and other members of
the institute also have an important role to play without the support of a manager's subordinates support. No company thrives without good employes,
no matter how good the leader is.Therefore, it is crucial that employes of company are provided with healthy environment and a supportive team.
For instance, if an organization has a good atmosphere, supportive team, and stress free environment, the workers will be motivated to do their work instead of being stressed.
It can only happen if the Chief officer of a company provides such workspace where employes can talk to each other without the fear of being judged and can open learn from each other.
Furthermore, being highly competitive may also have negative repurcussions. A recent survey indicated that being over competitive can lead to
stress that declines the productivity of a person and increase in stress may also lead to mental health problems. As the saying goes, "There is no nobility in outdoing
doing others. Outdoing your previous self is the doorway to success", instead of competing with other employes, organizations, leaders, etc. it would be wise to compete
with oneself than with others. For instance, Information Technology is a highly complicated field and there are many companies based on it. Most of the IT companies
that are stress-free and does not promote to be highly competitive with others often become successful contrary to companies that makes their employes work overtime.
The reasons is due to the negative effects of working a highly competitive work place. Therefore, most of the times one should avoid being highly competitive as it always
does not have the intended positive effect.
However, competition is not always a bad thing. Healthy competition is essential for any leader to motivate himself to do better and motivate his staff to outdo themselves.
In fact, competition helps a person to know his current skill level and may imbue him with sense of determination to work better. Companies promote competitions by
organizaing events like hackathons -where coders work continuously to build a product or solve a problem.
In conclusion, it is wise for a leader to be charming, witty and friendly most of the time and should motivate their fellow workers to work rather than ordering their
co-workers and stressing them to compete with each other. Also, competition inherently is a good and healthy competition may promote goodwill and may galvanize one to
work hard to improve his abilities or skills. But being highly competitive is never recommended and it leads to stress, disturbance of relation among workers, etc. and
many sich unintended ill efects.