Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Author makes a point by stating that young people should be prepared for leadership roles in different sectors with understanding of co-operation, not competition. Author tacitly shows that system should not be competition driven. I agree with the author's point of view that cooperativeness will bring more change to the system.

Leadership requires quality such as leading from the front and working with people, understanding their problem and managing it efficiently. For, those skills Leader should be open to all the ideas and theory. He/She should be capable enough to bind a team together. When everybody is working with the same idea and that is to improve everyone around them, it will always going to be a positve outcome.

Moreover, competition based culture is stymie to individuals growth as they will always be looking to perform better than their opponent or colleagues and in that process, will forgot to compete with themselves for their own growth. Inorder to prove their superiority people will try to disparage others and their contribution. We have seen multiple examples in past where people have tried to betray their own people in order to remove their competition which could lead to disasters for their own company or motherland.

Though, i will not deny that competition somewhere helps individual to reach their goals and try to outperform their opponent but considering the positive sides, Authors point seems valid and reasonable.