Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available.

According to the suggestion from planning department of the city of Transopolis, declining residential

area in the city should be used for industrial use. To support this claim, they mentioned that 10 years ago in order to revitalize the city under urban renewal program they adapted the scheme to build industries in are of severely substandard housing which brought positive changes in the city. However, there are some flaws in the suggestion which needs to be answered.

Firstly, planning department presumes that as crime rates were decreased and property tax revenues of the entire city increased, their task was successful. However, there is no detailed information about how this was achieved. If we consider that more factories were built due to which residential population decreased which could have reduced the crime rates in that particular area but it might have aggravated in other areas of the city.

Secondly, there is no mention of side effects of the industries to the environment and residents of the country. Likewise, there is no data to prove that there is requirement of industries in other areas of the city. Planning department is not considering that cost of houses will increase as there will not be more residential area, which is burdensome for common people. Also, planning department is assuming that the residents of the area where they are planning to build factories and industries will easily get the accomodation in nearby neighbourhoods.

Adding more to the last paragraph, There is no substantial evidence that how much houses are available in the nearby areas. What is the price of those houses? Is it afforadable for everyone?.Residents also need to look for other things as well like is there any school/colleges available in the area and if yes, what is the level of the education, fees and are there any vacant seats.It is not easy to migrate to another area considering all the aspects regarding education, healthcare, jobs.

Finally, considering all the points planning department's suggestion needs to be little pragmatic and to support their stand they need to provide some concrete and substantial evidence. As of now, this argument seems weak taking all the flaws in consideration.