The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis Ten years ago as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housi

According to the recommendation proposed by the planning department of the city of Transopolis, revamping of the declining residential area would revitalize the city as the renewal program has done on the other housing area near the freeday. However, the passage severely lacks crucial evidence to support its claim and thus needs more thorough analyses before it can be hastily accepted.

The foremost evidence it needs to gather and evaluate is the people's movement from the previous renewal program. The urban renewal program has reconstructed the "severely substandard housing near the freeway" as an industrial area. However, the passage does not mention or explain where the displaced people from the housing went. They might have moved to the other area of the city or to completely different city. If they have moved out from the city, the relevant taxes, such as income and goods, might have declined. Furthermore, less population means less consumption, whereas the increased industrial areas have raised production. If the new plan drives the population out of the city as the previous plan has done, the aggravated disparity between the production and consumption might disrupt the local economy. If the tracking has bespoken that they are moving out from the city, the city would be defaced more than revitalized, making the argument less attractive.

On top of that, one has to understand why the population in the latter city is declining. In fact, because the two cities are on the opposite sides, they might suffer from different reasons. Thus, if the renewal plan wrongly assumes the desolations of two residential areas have come from the same cause and prescribes the identical solution, the renewal might at best not solve or actually worsen the current situation of the local area. Then, the city would have to allocate more resources to eradicate or soothe the problem aftwards. In this sense, if the department has gathered information that shows the causes of two cities are different, the passage's argument is further weakened.

Lastly, the department has to collect information about expected effectiveness of an altnerative housing. The passage introduces the nearby residentail neighborhood to the city in concern to house the displaced population. Nevertheless, the passage does not show whether those forcedly moved out are eager to move to the neighboring apartments. There exists multiple possible reasons why they might have stayed where they live rather than the adjacent ones, ranging from financial reasons, amenities, and transportations. Thus, the new options might not appear as attractive as the department believes. If the evidence proves that the alternative housing nearby the neighborhood seems not too effective, the passage loses its strength.

To wrap it up, despite the evidence it has compiled and parsed, the passage fails to lend a cogent argument. In fact, it still contains many holes and needs to garner more evidence to further shore up its overall claim. Thus, it can be concluded that it is too foolhardy to readily accept what the passage argues until acquirements an understandings of the evidence as well as its implications are performed.