The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to a recommendation made by the planning department of the city of Transopolis, a declining residential area should be adapted for industrial use in order to revitalize the city. The department is making this suggestion based off of evidence of another neighborhood that was adapted for industrial use ten years ago and caused an increase in factories, property tax revenues, and decreased crime rates. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence are needed to evaluate the argument.

First off, there is no evidence given that the housing adapted 10 years ago is comparable to the current declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Perhaps the current neighborhood is in a part of the city with significantly high crime rates, and factories will not want to build in the area. There is a possibility that this current neighborhood is much smaller than the large area adapted ten years ago and reconstructing the declining residential area will not have as great, or any effect on the city. If either of these points hold merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is strongly weakened.

Subsequently, information is needed on if the improvements in Transopolis ten years ago were because of the large area adapted for industrial use. For example, it is possible that the crime rates in Transopolis decreased due to an increased police presence at the time. In addition, several factories may have been constructed because of a boost in the overall economy and therefore factories had more finances to support construction. If the above assumptions are true, then the original argument does not hold water.

Finally, what if the residents of the area on the opposite side of the city are angered from being displaced from their housing and this causes a further decline of Transopolis? This argument is assuming that everyone in the declining residential area will be content with being moved to nearby alternate housing. Perhaps these people have strong attachment and memories within their home and do not want to move. This could cause the city residents to riot, complain, and cause mayhem within the planning department. If this hypothesis is true, then the argument continues to be further deteriorated.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is substantially flawed. The planning department of the city of Transopolis needs to provide further evidence on the comparison of the two residential areas, information about the changes in Transopolis ten years ago, and possibly survey the residents of the new declining area. This evidence will help evaluate the argument more efficiently and allow the department to create more cogent conclusions.