When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The society that we live in is constantly developing. The infrastructure of populous cities like New York are always evolving, and one cannot walk a single block without running into some type of construction. According to the prompt, when old buildings stand in the way of modern development the new structure should be given precedence. I moderately disagree with suggestion due to the fact that old buildings serve as a preservation of history. However, it may be acceptable to tear these areas down due to dangerous structural issues.

First, the preservation of old buildings is important because they serve as a way to remember the history of the area or even a significant time period. An example of a building holding historical relevance is Mount Vernon, or George Washington’s home. This beautiful site has been preserved for many years and is visited by thousands of people each year. If one was to take a tour inside one would learn extensive history and possibly feel as if they traveled back in time. Another example is the University of Virginia (UVA). UVA stands on the grounds cultivated by Thomas Jefferson back in 1820s. The campus serves as a historical place and many of its students take pride in the history that is able to be preserved and shared with many. Both of these examples sit on a vast piece of property and if they were to be torn down there would be copious acres to build modern infrastructure on, but the important history of the buildings would be lost forever.

However, there is a circumstance in which tearing down an older building to create a modern development could be beneficial such as structural issues. It is factual that buildings deteriorate every day, and when this reaches a certain point it may be unsafe for humans to enter. When this situation occurs, it is understandable to tear down a building and give precedence to modern development. Nevertheless, if the building holds significant historical relevance, there should always be an attempt to repair the damages. For example, the Washington Monument in the District of Columbia has had countless structural issues, but engineers have been working tirelessly for many years to repair the monument. It would be easier to tear the whole structure down and build a more modern one, but then all of its history would be lost, and it would longer attract the substantial crowds that it does today.

Overall this issue is very complex and there are no easy answers. However, because of the statements made above, I believe that it is important to preserve timeless buildings due to the history they hold over tearing them down for new developments.