When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

The old buildings represent true history of the nation. The prompt claims that historic construction could be destroyed in order to build new modern one. I strongly disagree with this statement for two reasons, which I would explain below.

To begin with, old construction shows past life style better that anything. For example pyramids which locate in Egypt, serve the purpose of the museum for hundreds year. Scientists know about Egyptians life style a lot, mostly because of the pyramids and their virgin condition. In addition the constructions of the old Rim tell us about traditions and how first Olympics games were established. Therefore if modern planners decide to destroy old buildings and build new ones, people's recent history would be wasted.

Secondly, old constructions have proved their strengh towards the environmental disasters such as earthquake, tornado and so on. For example when new houses were constructed on the place of old ones in 2015. The earthquake that passed through capital city of the Kazakhstan in 2016, ruined mostly new constructions when old ones were not hurt a lot. In addition, according to the data in national newspaper of the Azerbaijan, most of the recently constructed buildings were decreased in persistence towards the wild wind. Accordingly, it doesn't mean that new buildings are better than old ones.

Of course, some may argue that modern buildings serve purpose to increase life conditions. However in today's life it does not seem reliable enough for destroying old constructions which represent history of last decades.