When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of old historic buildings.

Modern planner's are no doubt are smartest and efficient of all times in past several centuries, they tend to solve problem with some reasoning and are capable of building any building with multiple stories in harsh and rash condition. While some old building's are associated with some historical event's of cherish or shame, which must be known to upcoming generations in order to keep heritage surviving for long time in future. It is not necessary that old building's are of no use today, there are some building's present till date which are used for some task's like office or centre or any other thing.

First Is the example of White House, the office and living house of one of the most important President in World. It has been in same location for more than 200 year's, every time new any problem this old building raises it has to be solved on urgent basis as it is been accommodated by President and the country will no tolerate vulnerable security of President. As it has been witness of some historical event's like signing of act that abolishes slavery, racism and many more act's.

Second is the example of Shaniwar Wada, the historical palace which was accommodated by the Peshwa's, who ruled across several parts of sub-continent part of Asia. Well it is not in best condition due to environmental problem's, people's day to day use and spoiling building by drawing graffiti on wall's. The building has been witness of the many historical incident's some of them were good while some were extremely bad but there is need to some how preserve the building to keep historical heritage preserved at any expense.

Third is the example of Old Parliament Of India, it was the first important building where constitution of India was enacted on citizen's of India after Independence. The Building is was used till date by the Member's of Parliament to form some important law's. The problem with this building is that it is impossible to accommodate the future count of member's. And no law or resolution can be passed or rescind without the taking every member's view. So there was need to build new building but that doesn't mean that the government is free to demolish the building for some modern structure's.

I do not agree with the statement of abolishing the old building to build modern architecture rather than preserving it. If the building carries importance in past time and even today then it is better to preserve the building rather than demolishing it. Because historical importance is way more important than the lumpsum amount it will cost in preserving.