Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort,
time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts,
especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered specie
The Earth is home to wide variety of plants and animals. Due to increase in human population and sophisticated lifestyle humans adopted, humans resorted to deforestation
and encroachment of lands - that are home to many plants and animals. Because of such activities, balance of nature is disturbed and many plants and animal species
are getting extinct. Since it is people who are mostly responsible for endangering the trees and animal lives, some argue that we as society should make an effort to
save the plants and animals from extinction no matter the cost and effort it takes. Other beleive that such extraneous steps are not necessary given the expense. In
my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that we as humans should try saving the plant and animals that are getting extinct because of the following reasons.
To begin, it is our collective duty as humans to save the endangered species when we look at the issue from moral ground. Our evolution has disturbed the lifestyle
of many species and even destroyed their chances of survival. Human greed to want more came at the cost of lives of many species. Do we as humans have any right to
do such atrocious things to other species? Do we get to decide who lives and who dies just because we are intelligent species? The answer to both the questions may
have different answers from different persons. But morally, it is now correct on our path to take other species lives just because it benifits us. Already many birds,
animals, plants have gone extinct due to lack of suitable habitat and many more are on the way to become history. If we do not act now, we maybe late in saving other
lifeforms and we have their blood on our hands.
Aditionally, even if we look at it from pragmatic perspective that benifits humans, we should not let the plants or animals die because it will damage the ecosystem
and harms even human. Different life forms need to coexist to maintain a balance and survival of one species depends on another directly or indirectly. Albert Einstein
once said that, "If all the bees in the world die, humans will become extinct in the next 4 years". Likewise there are several other plants and animals we need to survive.
Deforestration and cutting down of trees is causing rise in temperature which is leads to melting of icebergs that leads to flood. Also, plants produce oxygen that
humans survive on. In this age of pollution, we need to plant more trees to curb pollution and decrease global warming not because we have to do favor to other but ourselves.
Therefore, in such cases it is vital that we protect and save plants and animals.
However, going too far to save few plants or animals that would not make much of difference to homo sepians and does not disturb the balance of nature may not be a
good idea. We humans have our share of needs to be fulfilled. Many people in the world are dying due to lack of food, poverty, and disease. Ignoring such people and
spending way too much on flora or fauna may not be the proper thing to do. We should try to ensure decent lifestyle to every human. Also, to progress scientifically
we need to experiment on certain beings and it may harm the survival of few living things. Such steps maybe harsh but needed to be done to progress.
In conclusion, humans as a whole should definitely come together and do their part to save all lifeforms and make earth a suitable planet for the rest too. Failure to
do so will result in extinction of different species that harms our own survival. We have been polluting nature since stone age. It is time we come together and stop such
atrocities. However, we should also consider the cost and effort needed to protect other species and it should not come at the expense of our own survival or expense
of taking money that feeds a family.