Ten years ago our company had two new regional office buildings built in two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies – Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had virtually identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha Construction Company, rather than Zeta, for all future building projects.

The vice president of a large highly diversified company in a company states that the company should prefer Zeta instead of Alpha as their contemplated new project as it costs less even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs. The author of the argument substantiates his claim by saying that the building constructed by Zeta has less maintenance cost than Alpha, even though it took 30% more for Zeta to construct the building compared to Alpha. He further says that energy consumption of the buildings by Zeta were less expensive compared to Alpha. The argument now is ripe because of several unwarranted assumptions and a lack of solid evidence to back his claims. In order to fully evaluate the argument the following must be addressed

To begin, the author of the argument mentions that building expenses for Zeta have been half of that of Alpha, even though the two-building had similar floor plans. The author failed to mention the location of both the buildings constructed by Alpha and Zeta. Perhaps, it may be the case the expenses for things needed to maintain the building constructed by Zeeta are low because prices in its region are low and it may have nothing to do with Zeta. It can also be the case where even though the floor plan is identical, the building constructed by Alpha has more luxurious items as few people wanted it and it can be the reason for the increase in maintenance cost. Without considering above casing and failing to provide any evidence for it makes the argument water under the bridge

Furthermore, the author of the argument also states that the energy consumption of building built by Zeta is half of the energy consumption of Alpha constructed building. The author naively gives the total credit to Zeta for less consumption of energy. First of all, the author did not mention the climatic conditions for both buildings. It can be the case that the Alpha constructed building is situated in harsh climatic conditions and it needs more energy compared to Zeta to sustain. It can also be the case where people living in building done by Zeta are environmentally active and are vigilant not to misuse energy and waste power. Without considering the above situations and not giving any proofs to correctly evaluate the argument makes the argument even weaker

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is seriously flawed due to absence of solid evidence or proofs to back the author's claims.

If the author is able to provide proofs preferably in a systematic format, it may be possible to evaluate the soundness of the argument