The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

“Ten years ago our company had two new regional office buildings built in two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies – Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had virtually identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha Construction Company, rather than Zeta, for all future building projects.”

The argument presented by the author appears to be convincing at first. But on observing closely, we get to know that the argument is rife with holes and assumptions which must be glanced upon and taken into consideration to obtain a convincing result.

At first, the author mentions that the building constructed by Zeta cost more than the one constructed by Alpha even though the floor plans of both the building were same. In this case, the author fails to mention more about the buildings like the number of floors, area of the building, etc. If the floors of the building built by Zeta are more than it is obvious that it will cost more. Even if the area of the building is quite lively and happening then again it becomes clear as to why the building built by Zeta costs more.

Later on the author mentions that Zeta’s building expenses were only half to that of Alpha’s. Here, the author again fails to mention the reasons for the same. It may be that the working time of the employees in the building built by Zeta is less as compared to that of Alpha’s. Also if the number of employees are less then the usage of all the amenities in the building will be less which again contributes to less expenses. Thus, such details must be mentioned so as to clearly understand why the cost of expenses in the building built by Zeta is low.

Furthermore, it is also mentioned that the energy consumption of the Zeta building is less as compared to that of Alpha. This may be due to the less number of employees working in the building built by Zeta as mentioned earlier. It may also be possible that the building built by Zeta is smaller than Alpha’s building which in turn answers the question as to why Zeta’s building has less energy consumption. We also do not know the work done by the employees working in the Zeta building. If most of their work is on field that is they spend very less amount of time in the office building than it is evident that the energy consumption of the Zeta building will be less.

Thus, it is important for author to take into consideration such assumptions. This will provide a more clear picture as to which construction company will be best suited for their new project.