“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The argument stated by the author seems to be convincing at first. But on analyzing it carefully, it appears that the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. Thus, these assumptions must be dealt with before making any statement regarding the news program.

Firstly, the author states that most of the complaints have been regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. There is no information provided regarding the reasons to these complaints. These complaints may not be related to the less time provided for the coverage of weather and local news. Rather, these complaints may be regarding the quality of the news delivered. For example, the viewers may be reading about the weather and news from the daily newspapers. And then if the same content is being shown again during the news program then they may be disinterested to watch it. The viewers may expect something else from these coverages which the news channel is failing to deliver and thus, this may be the reason for their complaints.

It is also mentioned that it is a late-night news program. Thus, before taking any steps, the news agency must find how many people are their daily viewers. Are there any complaints from these viewers? Or are any of these viewers not satisfied with their news coverage? It may be that the daily viewers are satisfied with the news coverage but the complaints are being logged in by a few other viewers who visited the channel only once and were not satisfied with it.

Also, there is a mention of the number of complaints. It says that most of the complaints are related to the weather and local news. But what about the number of complaints that they are receiving? What if the complaints have reduced over the year? If the complaints that they received in the current year are very less than what they received in the previous year then, this opposes the author's argument regarding the news coverage.

Furthermore, the local businesses that used to advertise during the late nights have cancelled their contracts. This does not contribute in any way to the argument that the weather and local news coverage time must be increased. There is no information provided that why did these businesses cancel their contracts. They may have felt that advertising during late nights is not very effective for their businesses. There are not many people who watch the late night news programs and thus these local businesses might have used another approach to reach their target audience. Also, these local businesses may have been approached by other news agencies with better contracts.

After taking all the above mentioned assumptions into consideration and making sure that they are dealt with properly, the author must make a statement regarding the news coverage.