Of the two leading real estate firms in our town - Adams Reality and Fitch Reality - Adams Reality is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch Reality has 25 many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home at a good price, you should use Adams Reality.

The author has stated that if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price then you should use Adams Reality firm. The author also compares about the revenue of the two real estate firms in the town and gives his own personal experience with both the firms. At first this argument seems to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it has a lot of flaws and assumptions which have been neglected for drawing the conclusion.

Firstly, the author gives us the information about the last year's revenues of each firm. Based on the revenues of the firms, the author gives his view on which firm is superior. Here, the author has simply assumed that the revenue is the only aspect which decides which firm is better. It may happen that Fitch reality firm may sell homes which have a very high price and thus many people may not afford it. And at the same time Adams reality firm could sell houses which are affordable to most of the people living in that town and thus, this firm sells more houses as compared to Fitch reality firm. Thus, the author has provided us with less information regarding the firms and this may lead to invalid conclusions.

Furthermore, the author tells us that he/she had listed a house with Fitch ten years ago and it took more than four months to sell it whereas, he/she had listed a house with Adams this past year and it took only a month for the house to be sold. The author talks about his/her experiences but one of which was ten years ago. This is a huge time span and the author has neglected this. The author has assumed the work rate and the efficiency of the Fitch firm is still the same as compared to that it was ten years ago. It could happen that the number of employees working in the Fitch firm now are more than the number of employees working in the firm ten years back. It could also happen that the efficiency of the employees working currently is much more then the efficiency of the employees who worked ten years back. If this is the case then there is a very high chance that the author could have sold his/her house in very less time. Thus, there are certain assumptions which are considered in stating that homes listed with Adams sell faster as compared to Fitch.

The author also talks about the home sales of both the firms and that shows us that Adams reality firm has more sales than Fitch reality. Here, the author has assumed that because the sales of Adams firm are high, it is better than Fitch. He/She clearly neglects other details about the house such as the area in which it is located, are there any daily household facilities available nearby and many such things. It could be that the houses listed in Adams firm are not that great. Their condition could be poor as a result of which their price is less. The town where this firm is located might now have many wealthy residents and maximum of the residents could be struggling financially. This may cause them to buy the homes listed in the Adams firm. Whereas on the other hand, the houses listed with Fitch firm may be costly and this may again cause the residents to buy houses with Adams if their financial condition is not strong enough. So these are certain holes and assumptions which the author has not looked upon and thus if they are taken into picture then the conclusion maybe different.

Thus, if the above listed flaws and assumptions are not taken into picture and are not considered then we cannot say that Adams firm is superior to Fitch. The author must consider all these cases and only then decide which firm is better.