"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town-Adams Reality and Fitch Reality-Adams Reality is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Reality."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this letter, the homeowner argued to a friend that Adam's reality is better than Fitch reality. Although the argument may seem convincing at first glance, but the unsound assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the homeowner assumes wrong guideline in determining the superiority of the real estate firm. The homeowner only considers the quantity, not the quality of the real estate agents. Even if there are more real estate agents in Adam's reality, it cannot be interpreted that the quality of the agent in Adam's reality is better. In same manner, the number of the part-timer is not important also. Therefore, in order to persuade his friend, the homeowner should provide about the information about not quantity but quality of the real estate agents.

Moreover, the assumption that the homeowner made about money is not credible. He/she mentioned in the letter that Adam's reality is better because it showed more revenue last year. It may be aberrant, which only limited for last year, thus the homeowner should provide about the history of past revenues for each stores. Furthermore, the homeowner only considered about the average selling price of each store. Since the intrinsic price of each home can be different due to its condition, location, and furnitures inside, not the average selling price of the home, but the average profit earned by single selling should be considered for the fair comparison. Thus, the homeowner should support the assumption that he/she made for more sound argument.

Lastly, the homeowner's argument is based on the third assumptions that the change of the price by time is minute. Since the homeowner's selling experience is 10 years ago, and 1 years ago, this comparison cannot be fair due to the 9 years of time gap. In addition, it is only single event that he/she experience, so it may not objective. In addition, not the time spent, but the profit earned is the important one in houseselling. Therefore, the homeowner should provide the additional information that may complement the logical fallacies in the assumption.

In summary, the argument is unpersuasive because of fallacies of assumptions in wrong guideline of superiority, in money, and in time. In order to bolster the argument, the homeowner should provide additional information that possibly make the assumption more sound.