A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Before matriculating into college, students learn substantial knowledges. Although they have been exposed under same national curriculum nowadays, I disagree with this policy according to following reasons.

Granted, some rudimentary subjects should be taught in common. Basic math and history can be two good examples of this rudiments. In case of the basic math, to form the basic economical ability to managing the money, it is obvious that every people should know about that. In addition, in case of the basic history, to know and understand their ancestor’s effort, it is also obvious that every people should know about that. Thus, some of the subjects should be subsumed in national curriculum.

However, there are substantial time to study before matriculating into college. In case of the math and history as mentioned above, in South Korea, students even must study about calculus and ancient poetry before they enter college. Both of them cannot be treated as the basics for the living. They should spend substantial time to learn useless knowledge, without their intention, just for their grades to enter the college. Therefore, not every subject has to be mandatory.

Furthermore, every student has different talents. Nowadays, knowledge and technologies have been highly diverged, which denotes that ordinary people hardly know the other subjects except their majors, and even the social systems are constructed firmly for the cooperation between other majors. Thus, it is better to put their efforts in study about their major, not in other majors for their future. Even the effectiveness is different between studying talented subjects and studying non-talented subjects. Thus, if every subject is being mandatory, they may lose their opportunity to improve their professions.

Because of aforementioned reasons, I disagree with the opinion that the nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Of course, some of the subjects should be taught, but it is not effective to give same lecture for all student before their matriculation.