To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In order to understand the characteristics of a society, we should focus on the human because the main component of the society is the citizen. In this perspective, I agree with the argument that the studying major cities of the specific society can make understand the most important characteristics of a society.

Granted, minor cities possibly show significant characteristics of a society. The city named 'Incheon' in South Korea, which is now being satelite city, can be the good example that show significant characteristics of a society. Since South Korea have been traded continuously with China for a long period, the port that adjacent to China have been one of the most important region. This brings the prosperity of the port city, Incheon in this case. Historically, we can observe lots of historic sites of Chosun dynasty in Incheon, so we can understand the characteristic of the society originated from the past.

However, as mentioned above, we should focus on the people to understand well about the charicteristic of the society. Even though Incheon is still large city, Seoul has been the largest city from that days. This denotes that more historic sites of Chosun dynasty such as Kyeongbok-palace, which is the main palace for the king of Chosun, can be found in Seoul. Thus, we can understand about the characteristic of the society originated from the past in not only Incheon but also Seoul. Moreover, because still there are lots of people in Seoul, we can understand about the characteristic of the society of the present. Since the culture birth with people, Seoul is the main stream of the Korean culture such as the K-pop. Therefore, studying major city, not satelite city, is priority to understand the characteristic of the society more completely.

In conclusion, because most of people inhabit in major city, the major city delineates the characteristic of a society most vividly. Thus, I agree with the statement that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.