Issue 8.

Claim: In any field – business, politics, education, government – those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is debatable whether the leaders should step down after five years or not. I disagree with the claim because there are some fields that needs the same leader longer than five years such as some business companies, and disagree with the reason also because there are other surer path than the new leadership which may lead the enterprise success.

First, in business, leaders should stay in power more than five years. In case of the business, the policy of the company mainly depends on the thought of the leader. Granted, sometimes the change of the leader may bring the positive effect for the success of the company. However, in case of the IT companies such as Microsoft, Apple, and Facebook, they need to follow the offer of the market with alacrity, and this needs the preceded strong and united policy of the company. If they cannot follow the need of the market instantly yields by the change of the leader, they will be culled from the market. Therefore, business leaders should be continued more than five years.

In addition, there is other surer path to the success than the new leadership. Let’s take the example in education field. Previously, the education was only conducted in face to face. However, with development of the internet technology, online courses have been opened. With the handiness of the internet, the online course company such as Coursera is being very successful not due to its new leadership, but due to its novel market. Moreover, in case of the many successful start-up companies, the origin of there success comes from the novel and creative items, not from the new leadership. Even the leadership of some companies are weak because the leader of the start-up company is usually novice. Therefore, there are surer diverse factors for the success of the company than the new leadership.

In conclusion, for some fields, leaders had better to maintain their job more than five years, and even there are lots of surer paths to the success instead of the fresh leadership. For the success of the company, people should focus on not only the leadership, but also the other factors such as the changed market environment and the creativity of the work that they want to achieve.