Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Although financial problem is one of the most important part in administration of cities, I disagree with the claim that governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, while I agree with the reason that it is primariily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Granted, since the cultural traditions are preserved by people, citizen in this case, major cities have significant role in preservation of cultural traditions, and development of new culture based on past. Thus, there is no question that the center of the one nation's culture is major cities, and I agree with the suggested reason.

However, suggested reason cannot be sufficient to justify the claim that the financial support of each citied must be ensured. First of all, as mentioned above, major cities have lots of citizens inside, so they make new source of income easily relative to the other minor cities. In the case that the major and minor cities encountered with same crisis, although major cities will possibly be damaged by it, but minor cities will likely be devastated by it. Because the minor cities are also the one that government should concern, the government should take care about the minor cities. Since the resource of the government is limited, major cities should have its ability to treat the national crisis. For example, in COVID-19 crisis, one of the major city of Seoul, which have high financial independency, treat themselves well by their own financials, so other minor cities such as Daejeon can be supported by government. If government should support the Seoul, than maybe other minor cities cannot be supported. Therefore, they should not lean on the financial support of the main government, but earn their financials themselves.

In summary, although I agree with the suggested reason, but it seems like insufficient to support the claim that government must guarantee the financial support for the major cities. It is problem of thrive in pacific days, but it can possibly be problem of threat in crisis situation.