The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

In this memo, the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company argues that they should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to improve their prospected viewers of their movie. Although it may seem convincing at first glance, but the lack of answers to some questions lead me to question about the soundness of this argument.

First, the director should answer the question whether the condition of last year is only aberrant or not. Since fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies are the condition for last year only, it may be aberrant due to the temporary bad economy, and following lower money spent for movie. Furthermore, positive reviews by movie reviewers for last year only can be treated identically. It can be the temporary strategy of the movie reviewers to rekindle the movie market, for example. Therefore, the director should give answer to the question about the aberrancy of the company's condition for last year through monitoring more than one year.

Moreover, more concrete answer about the question about reason why the viewer is decrease. Since positive review from movie reviewer did not directly denote the favorable public movie, it cannot guarantee the good quality of movie for the public. Even if the positive reviews are trustworthy, the public may not want the qualified movie, but the commercial movies. Thus, the director should answer about the question about the exact reason of the decrease in the viewer.

Lastly, the director had better provide the answer to the question whether the increase of the budget can induce the better performance of the company. It may possibly not the problem of insufficient advertisement, but the problem of maniac or old genre that induce the decrease of the viewer. In addition, advertisement is not gratuitous. Because the budget should entail for more advertisement, the increased budget in advertisement may override the increment in profit. In this case, the total profit of the company may decrease, even they make their movie more popular. Thus, the direction should provide the answer whether the strategy about advertisement will effective or not.

In summary, the suggested argument by advertising director is not sound in various aspects. To bolster the argument, the director had better to provide the answer about the aforementioned questions.