Issue 114: Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In our society, there are diverse leaders in diverse organization, and their decision-making can develop the organization or even destroy the organization. In feature of the decision-making, it is debatable whether the leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little or much. However, I disagree with the statement. In other words, not all leaders who affected easily will accomplish little.

Granted, some organizations grounded on long-term technology need not to be easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion. Hardware technology company in electrical engineering can be proper example. In development of the specific hardware, it takes a significantly long time and effort. However, the need of that hardware cannot be predicted in present, they only know about its need in future because the need of that hardware highly depends on the external environment according to its usage. Thus, easily shifted leader by common opinion may mar the higher achievements in hardware technology.

However, some organizations based on short-term technology need to be easily influenced by popular thoughts. Software technology can be a good example of this case. “User friendly environment” is one of the most important issue in software development, since software is the closest system with the users. Therefore, users are lured to the software considered as comfortable in their own opinion. This means that without quick feedback from popular opinion, it is hard to survive in software market. This denotes that the leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish more.

Nowadays, the portion of the short-term technology are increasing based on the concrete technological background. This leads to the importance of the feedback from public opinion. Based on this trend, people should consider the opinions of those around them.