Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

Leadership is a unique talent because it needs split-second decisions, needs futuristic view, needs unprejudistic approach and needs discerning view to make a decision for a variety of people. Such powerful process can not be accomplished without self-establised or inherent talent. Therefore, leaders those influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Society is filled with a variety of people those who can’t be categorized into a specific type. People are mostly driven by emotional things and opinions based on that won’t work all the time in an expected way. Influx of refugees into a country has always been an issue to the country’s economy, to which a country needs to pay attention and have to take steps to provide enough support to refugees and at the same time without affecting citizens of that country. When a country tries to support/stop the influx of refugees into the country, people see the issue with emotional approach and pour opinions based on that without understanding the overall effect on country’s economy. If a leader pays attention to the shifts in people’s opinion, that country can’t achieve any solution to their problem.

In addition to that, people are easily gullible to the social media news, though they realize that internet is full of noises. People tend to believe whatever they see in social media and their opinions are influenced with what they learn from articles. The best example which can’t be missed here is the Analytica Scandal on United States 2016 election. The documented Analytica scandal shows us how the company manipulated people’s mindset and their expectation based on the locality. This proves that people are irresistible to the Social media news and this has influences on people’s opinion which can’t be reliable factor to a leader’s decision.

A commoner can’t mostly give an educated opinion on all of the nation’s problems, though they can shed some light on their locality based issues which makes complete sense. When it comes to an international issue or a problem that includes variety of people and situations, a commoner’s opinion would be very prejudiced. If we take a survey for solutions about the on going economical war between United States and China, the survey results will prove the mixed views and the incorporated issues on relying the popular opinions.

However, we can’t expect a commoner to perceive the overall views about a nation’s problems. We elect a person as a nation’s leader based on the complexities filled with the leadership and the person’s ability to deal with them. If such a leader tends to be influenced by the shifts in opinions, can accomplish little and the leadership’s quality is questionable.