'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The author concludes that the television station should restore time alotted to the weather and local news because of advertising contracts cancellation and the increase in complaints received from viewers regarding weather and local news coverage. The argument has been developed on many unwarranted assumptions which makes the argument to fall apart.

Primarily, the author has stated that late-night news program has reduced its weather and local news over the past year and viewers complaints has increased during this time. The argument did not provide any other details about its usual weather and local news reports, whether they telecast weather reports on mornings, whether they cover local news at other times of a day or they repeat the these news at any other time in a day. In addition, we don't know much about the popularity level of that particular television station and its viewers range. If it is a local regional television station, then it is crucial for them to devote time for local news rather than covering national news. On the other hand, a national or international television station should dedicate much time towards worldwide events. Therefore, it is vital to address these details to asses the author's statement about telecasting weather and local news.

Furthermore, the author has expressed his or her concern about the canceled advertising contracts from local businesses. Losing local businesses advertising contract is bad for a television station, but, knowing whether it is the only source of their advertisements is important as well. If this is not the local station, then they may be other national advertising clients. In addition to that, if it is a popular channel, losing local advertisements would not affect the station's revenue in large scale. As stated previously, since we don't know whether the television station is national or local channel and also there is not much clarity on the other sources of advertisements, we can't decide that retrieving weather and local news time will attract or hold the advertisement revenues.

Finally, there is no concrete reasons provided for the advertisement cancellations. What if the local businesses are not running well in that province and they cancelled their advertisements because of their low revenues? What are the total advertising contracts the station had and what fraction of the contracts they lost? Had these informations provided along with the argument, the author could have made the claim robust.

I can concede that what the author has presented is potentially a good idea, but still there is not enough evidences to support the argument. And we can not accept or reject the decision until we address the concerns that have discussed above.