Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Voting and its power is unlimited to a nation's progress. There are many examples in history of elected leaders and the nation's rise and fall. Such powerful decision needs some experience and knowledge of nation's status and need. So, I disagree that children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

To begin with, children at the age of 15 will be very influenced by what attracts them. The natural process of adolescent aging is when they will be going through the real world experiences and will be learning, adapting themselves to their circumstances. At that time, if they are given with voting rights, it contains the risk of not only their negligance towards voting but also they can be easily lured with wrong political ideas of their age interests. For instance, even though the voting rights is given to Indian children at the age of 18, the recently conducted election time survey showed the widespread ignorance of voting group youngsters about the competing parties. In addition, when they were asked whom they would vote for, most of their reply was either random choice or based on the political popularity. This shows how wrong it could go if we give voting rights to children of age 15.

Second, young age children don't understand the seriousness of voting. In most cases, they are not aware of the power of voting and the consequences of choosing a wrong leader. In some places, students vote for fun and the insta pics. This casual approach of theirs is incorporated with their adolescent behaviourism. There are so many studies proved that it is common that children at their adolescent period to be lethargic. Apart from age, the less worldly experience make it difficult for them to understand the voting and its power.

Though there are many children at their adolescents be very astute about current affairs and their nation's governmental structure, the vast group of children over the age of 15 don't fall under this category. Since a nation's progress is in the hands of elected leaders, it is essential to be careful to whom we give the power to choose those leaders. So I disagree with the idea of giving voting rights to children around the age of 15.