"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell v

The argument is flawed with numerous unstated assumptions. The argument has made comparisons between the trend of alpaca overcoat five years ago and the present demand. Deriving a conclusion based on assumptions makes the argument to fall apart.

The main assumption that argument has made is about the expectation of consumer demand for Sartorian’s alpaca overcoat will be same as five years ago. The modern society is replete with influx of new models in clothing world. If a particular style was famous five years ago, we can’t guarantee the same demand in the present. Had the argument provided the present consumer demand for alpaca overcoats of other companies or the the present status of alpaca overcoats’ trend in clothing world, the argument could have supported its claim.

Secondly, the argument has mentioned about a new fabric supplier and resuming alpaca overcoats production. There is no comparison provided for the old and new supplier’s fabric quality. And the production had difficulty in obtaining reliable supplies from the old supplier. There is no data given about the reliability of new supplier and the conclusion has been made based on this unstated assumption. Had the argument provided the detailed comparison of the wool quality between the old and new supplier and the reliablity of the new supplier, the argument could have been strengthened its view.

Finally, the argument has concluded about the expectation of Sarotian’s alpaca overcoats overall profit to the company based on the consumer’s outcry when they discontinued the product. And also the author has mentioned a fact that there were none of their competitors to offer a comparable product. Since it has happened five years ago and there were no other alternate brand to fulfill their place, we can’t expect the same in the present time. The argument could have strengthened its point, if it has provided the present competitive companies that produces alpaca overcoats.

Had the argument considered the time gap and given more details to prove that current alpaca overcoats trend, mindful about the competitors of the present time, provided more details about the new supplier’s reliability and fabric’s quality comparing with old supplier to ensure the alpaca overcoats’ overall quality, the argument could have strengthened its decision more. Making a conclusion without these details won’t produce the expected results.