A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The argument states that a pet food company, in response to the complaints received regarding the nauseating effect of the products on some of their pets, conducted a research to ferret out the root cause of the problem but they found no noxious element and hence, the author believes that the company should not devote any further resources for the investigation. While the argument presents some convincing facts, there are few things that are left uncertain like whether the 4 million pounds of pet food recalled was from the same center as the epicenter of the complaints or some other place, the efficiency and validity of the tests and if the products bought by these consumers are an emulation of the company products or the original ones.

The demography of the samples is significant to evaluate the argument as if the samples recalled are not from the same center as the region where there has been many complaints, then there is a possibility that the samples in that area are contaminated with something that is causing nausea, lethargy and other signs of illness in the pets.

In this case, the company must recall food from the affected areas and investigate further in order find the cause for these ill effects on the pets.

The argument completely relies on the test results, but it is uncertain if the test is amply equipped to dig out all the hidden chemicals in the products. If the test fails to detect some hazardous chemicals that is causing the illness in pets then the author's prediction that the company need not spend more resources for this investigation will be false.

The argument also fails to state if the consumers bought the original company products or the duplicate ones. This is necessary to evaluate as if the consumers bought a duplicate version of the company products then the company must conduct further investigation and avert any vicissitudes coming their way.

Hence, the above points needs to be examined in order to evaluate the recommendation given in the argument.