The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Young people of today's society, often vie against people to achieve something. The world is full of limited opportunities which are strived by myriad of people, competition is innate to us because of this low supply to demand ratio. We are inveterately prone to compete with someone and vanquish over others in order to achieve what we want.

This competition while inveterate to us, must be circumscribed only to a certain level, there are certain people who tend to vie for even the most petty things, too much competition can be deemed pernicious to themselves or the fields they contribute to. People with competitive mentality cannot even enjoy the pedantic aspects of daily life as they perceive a competition even in the most trivial mundane things, if such indiviuals are working in an organization with a team then his or her attitude may stymie the team's work, thereby causing turbulence in the organization. In such cases, a sense of cooperation can ameliorate things in the organization.

People should have a conscience along with competitive spirit. Sometimes, the competition in people may grow to such an extent that it can be deleterious to the society. It can lead to malevolent actions on their part. Such people become more desperate than competitive. Hence, people should have an upper bound for their sense of competition.

Government, industry or any other fields requires its people to work in a team. In the end, all that matters is the team's growth and the organization's benefit from this growth. Hence, if young people are trained to be more competitive than cooperative then the professional environment will be inimical to them and to the people that work around them, which implies that young people should be instilled with a sense of cooperation along with some sense of competition as in this world, if we dont compete for opportunities, someone else will and he or she will sieze it.

Hence, in my opinion, young people should be instilled with cooperation with commensurate sense in competition.