Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument, although stated some convincing facts, has a few things that seem fallacious like the argument assumes that the ancestral diet works for the current generation as well, the occupation and lifestyle of ancestors is similar to that of the current generation and also, it assumes that the ancestral people had no health problems due to their diet inspite of a paucity of an evidence of their well being.

The argument assumes that the diet followed by our ancestors some millions of years ago, will also work in today's situation. It fails to consider the fact that there have been a lot of changes on earth since then, like the industrial revolution and hence the increasing pollution, climatic changes, lifestyle changes and the evolution of humans since the ancestral times. Many new bacteria and viruses have been discovered since the ancestral times and hence the condition that was some million years ago will not be similar to that of the present condition.

The argument also posits that the digestive system of our ancestors works in the same way as ours. Although, the human anatomy has not changed since the ancestral period, there have been a myriad of changes in terms of life style and occupation. The ancestors occupation was hunting which is a laborious exercise, while in today's world, hunting is a rare hobby. With the advent of technology, people hardly get time to perform daily physical exercises and hence the lifestyle of today's generation is antithetical to that of ancestors. So, it is unlikely that our ancestor's diet will work in the current generation as well. Hence, this is a vital factor to evaluate the argument.

The argument also states that by emulating the diet of ancient humans we can cure many chronic illnesses but there is no evidence provided regarding the health of the ancient humans. The longevity of ancient humans is not known and we have no proof to state that the diet reduced the mortality rate among the ancient humans and hence, the assumption that we can cure illness by emulating this diet will be false. So, this is a significant factor in determining the validity of the argument.

Hence, the above stated assumptions needs to be reconsidered in order to evaluate the argument.