Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Democratic governments from various places use the tagline, "of the people, for the people and by the people" which symbolises that a government that is formed by the people must abide by serving it's citizens and strive for the welfare of it's country, so I believe that a government must take into account the will of the people they serve and must assiduously work to fulfill their requirements, after all they are the people who voted for them to run the country.

In my opinion, for every step the government is taking , it must consult the people by organizing public forums and then take decisions accordingly. In this way, people will be satisfied that their taxes are put to something they care about and hence harmony can be ascertained.

Since, the government's motive is to serve the people and the country, they must meticulously consider each and every possibility for the betterment of the country and educate it's citizens about it, so that they will be able to endorse a step taken by the government based on their requirements and it's affects on the development of the country.

There could be some government officials who might take some advantages of being in the power and earn unfair money and so I believe endorsing the possibility of complete power vested with the people can make sure that some venal people in the government are not unfairly benefitting.

Sometimes , people might suggest radical changes which might effect the entire system. In such cases the government must use it's own conscience to decide on the action to be taken.Times when people propose violent or extreme measures, government must make it's own decision based on the resources available.

On a whole, I believe government must give priority to the requirements and demands of it's people while using it's own conscience to take a decision.