Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Political leaders representing counties, states, nations, and even international bodies are all entrusted with a weighty task: to govern effectively. While opinion on effective government vary widely, all can agree that officials should promote the best interest of their constituents and strive for peace and prosperity. However, the means to achieve these ends is a constant source of disagreement and political frustration. I have to agree that government officials should rely on their own judgment. The public has the responsibility to elect leaders with sufficient education, a moral compass, and creative negotiation and problem-solving abilities. Once the leaders are elected, the lay-people of the public take a minor role in governance and do not direct daily decisions or regular votes.

First of all, politicians should approach their vocation seriously and work to educate themselves on each decision while remaining close to the community they represent. One purpose for electing full-time representatives and paying them accordingly is to allow them the time to do the work of governance. It is a full-time job to read proposed bills, negotiate with colleagues, and investigate the facts leading to each decision. Politicians absolutely should find opportunities to hear from those they represent through town hall meetings or other experiences in the community. They can then use the feedback they receive to shape their decision making. They should use their judgment to best serve the people they represent and do so honestly and faithfully.

Some may argue that government officials have a duty to carry out the will of the people who elected them. Nevertheless, this is not necessarily possible and may lead to worse decision-making. First of all, we cannot assume all of the voters shared the same opinions. It is common for voters to rally behind a single issue such as abortion or tax cuts. Other times they report voting for the lesser of two evils. This means that they will hold a wide variety of opinions on other issues. If 60% of voters agree that a tax cut is necessary, maybe only 10% would support more money for public transit and 40% support stricter regulation for local business. This hypothetical scenario shows that it is not possible for the government official to carry out the will of his supporters in every circumstance. Additionally, the official has the opportunity to see the larger picture through meetings with colleagues, research on the issue, advice of interns, and access to non-public information. As long as the official is honestly working in the people’s best interest, this means that their decision will be more well-informed than if he simply votes as his voters prefer.

Notice that for this to work, the government official must be faithful to the best interests of his constituents and must do due diligence in learning about the issues to vote with fidelity. If he shows signs of corruption, voters have the responsibility to remove him from office. In our divided world of biased news and high paid lobbyists, it can be difficult to ensure that moral, well-intentioned people are elected to office, yet this is of highest importance. The people should not demand that an official carry out their will in every situation. Instead, they should demand that their leaders vote with a conscience, take time to hear community concerns, and work hard while in office to govern well and not to enrich themselves.