In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes that Mason City’s budget be updated to include money for maintaining riverside facilities for water sports and recreation. This proposal is based on surveys that show residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities. This is a faulty proposal that will likely not lead to increased use of the Mason River or to increased resident participation in water sports.

First of all, there are reportedly resident complaints over multiple years about poor water quality and the foul-smelling river. The state is already directing money to clean up the river. This action alone may reduce resident’s frustrations without requiring any extra money from the city. Any person living near a river would prefer it be clean, beautiful, and lack foul smells; this does not have any connection to whether the person complaining would like to get in the river or take part in water sports.

Secondly, a survey was given in which residents rank water sports as favorite activities. One cannot assume that this means they take part in water sports. It is possible that a person who enjoys watching swimming competitions would respond this way on a survey yet have no interest in participating in the sport themselves. Residents only ranked water sports ‘among’ their favorites, which could mean there are 3-4 activities that rank just as high. Additionally, residents who are interested in water sports such as snorkeling or surfing would not be able to do these in the Mason River. A more appropriate survey would ask if residents are likely to use boating and swimming facilities in the local river. The survey should also ask what type of facilities they are most likely to use, because residents may prefer indoor soccer or playgrounds or any number of other options.

Even if Mason City devotes budget money to riverside facilities and maintains them beautifully, there is no guarantee residents will use them. This proposal says river use is sure to increase although there are many reasons why this is not a guarantee. First of all, the entire plan is dependent on the state’s promise to clean up the river. If the state ends up changing plans and using money in other ways, Mason City should not build facilities on a dirty river! They should wait until steps have been taken towards clean-up to change the city budget. Moreover, some residents may already have a routine of visiting a nearby lake or indoor pool that would not change if facilities were built.

A more appropriate proposal for Mason City would consist of waiting until the state cleans up the river, conducting a thorough survey of resident interests that does not make assumptions about water sports, and then holding town hall meetings to elicit resident feedback and buy-in for any new plan. With some simple changes, Mason City could use the recreation budget to improve options for residents: the improvements just may or may not include the river!