The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leaders of today must excel in a global society and in fields that are diverse yet connected. While a sense of competition provides some financial incentive, a sense of cooperation is key for leaders in government, industry, and other fields.

For example, an entrepreneur starting a new business needs to forge connections with other leaders in the field, financial partners, and customers. A sense of cooperation allows this budding business owner to build relationships, gain advice from colleagues, and break into a new market. Cooperation with a community and an ability to work well with others will more likely lead to success that a competitive attitude can may alienate to others.

Additionally, cooperation can allow leaders of industry to partner together for cross-discipline innovations and to build on a shared knowledge base. For example, there has been recent competition to launch private rockets into space. Although the spirit of competition and attached financial incentives provided the initial motivation, it is cooperation between scientists, physicists, and business gurus that allows the lofty ideas to take shape and become a reality. If scientists and researchers hid their knowledge and achievements from others, it would not be possible to achieve space goals so quickly. Similarly, in the twentieth century, Russian and American space flight became possible through cooperation. Even though two countries were competing against each other, it was vast national cooperation and sharing or resources that made the dream of landing on the moon a reality. Collaboration and a sense of shared focus on a single purpose gave way to the first human steps on truly foreign soil.

Corporations often boast success through competition; the merits of capitalism and profit-seeking are common themes in the American dream. However, their success is only possible due to underlying cooperation. For instance, almost every high-powered executive has been groomed and prepped for the job by a mentor. Board rooms and committees are comprised of people seeking to cooperate to increase profits or output. Work retreats and challenges are becoming ever more popular.

In conclusion, a spirit of cooperation is present in every major business and endeavor, and instilling this sense of cooperation in young people best prepares them to lead the future.