The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director's recommendation to increase the production company's advertising budget is an inadequate solution to address declining attendance at Super Screen's movies.

A more appropriate strategy could be developed by asking some questions about this recommendation and subsequent plan. Are the movie reviewers a representative sample of the movie-viewing population? Did the quality of Super Screen movies decline during the past year? And do movie-goers consider reviews at all in their decision to attend movies at Super Screen? Most likely there are other changes in the market or factors in attendance that better explain this decline; therefore Super Screen would be better served to reallocate budget in other areas.

First of all, it is possible that the movie-reviewers do not adequately represent the viewers. If all of the reviewers are paid staff with college degrees over 35 years old, then they are not well-suited to evaluate a movie that is targeted to teens or young adults. The reviewers would ideally share a range of demographic qualities that match the target audience. The reviewers should also be independent from the production company to elicit honest feedback.

Additionally, it is likely there was another change that led to a decline in attendance. For example, did another production company enter the area and take away market share? Even online platforms such as Netflix or HBO may have removed viewers from the big box theater model. Assuming that the market was relatively stable, Super Screen's quality of film is a factor: if scripts were rushed, lesser-known actors chosen, and special effects skipped then viewers may lose interest due to poor quality of the product.

A detrimental assumption made by the advertising director is that the reviews are a large factor in decision-making of moviegoers. He seems to want to increase the budget to advertise the reviews; however, it may be far more effective to advertise the movies in a wider market or spend those dollars on making improvements to the product itself.

Super Screen should consider other recommendations before shifting funds to advertising and reviews.