The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author stated that Super Screen Movie Production Company has lost a significant number of their audiences in the past year despite of producing more quality movies reviewed positively by the movie critics. The author then suggests that Super Screen should spend more money for reaching audiences through advertisements. In my opinion, three questions must be answered in order to evaluate the author's suggestion properly.

First of all, what are the criteria for judging a movie as a quality one? In this argument, nowhere the criteria are mentioned. The movie production house may think that the detailing of the story, the efficacy of the actors and actresses or the intense twist of the story might be the criteria that are needed to be fulfilled. For the audience of the move, the criteria might not be same. For example, we can think of the Marvel Production House. They produce movies about superheroes. In their movies, a big part of their efforts they put on the visual effects and the VFXs. Because they know that audience like actions and intense visual effects which entertain them more than the story of the movie, they put less effort to the story telling and more effort to the action of the movie, resulting a great profit from the movie theaters. In this case of Super Screen, they may not think about what the criteria are from the audience's perspective.

Secondly, who are the target audience of the movies? In the argument, nothing specific about the audience is stated. The movie choices of people depend upon different factor such as geography, economic condition, level of their education, trend in movies in a particular area and so on. A movie suitable for a particular genre of audience might not be suitable for people living in different geographical area. A movie production must keep the choices of the target audience while making a movie. For instance, 'Saving Private Ryan' is a film produced in 1997 which is based on warfare. If this movie is broadcast in such a place where people don't like anything related to war, the movie will never be popular among the people irrespective of their great making. This might be the case for Super Screen Production as well.

Lastly, who are the competitors of the Super Screen Production house? Nothing about them is mentioned anywhere in the prompt. Super Screen might produce good movies that are good in the eyes of the movie reviewers, but if their rival production house produces a better movie than Super Screen at the same time it might not be beneficial for Super Screen. For instance, both "Forrest Gump" and " The Shawshank Redemption" were released in 1994. Both of them are great movies, but the immense popularity of Forrest Gump superceded the popularity of the Shawshank Redemption which became very popular also later on but not at the time of release. The same thing might happen with Super Screen.

A movie can only become popular and great if the movie can meet the demands of the audience. However, if the author can answer those three questions stated above, this would greatly help to evaluate the author's suggestion.