The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

"The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author states that illegal immigrants must be sent to their native country in order to defend one country's economic and national identity. In order to support the conclusion, The author mentions that the independence of a country depends mostly on the strength of its borders and immigrants are the only reason that cast threat to a country's national and economic issue. However, to evaluate this argument properly, three assumptions must be warranted.

First of all, the author mentions that strength of borders is the only base to retain the independence of a country. Even if we think this assumption as true, is there no chance that other factors might cast doubt on the autonomy of a country? For instance, in 1947 Indian subcontinent were divided into India and Pakistan on the basis of religion. Religion plays the most important role to separate Pakistan from Indian subcontinent. In this instance, border strength couldn't determine the independence of a country. Not only border strength but also other factors are very significant in the matter of independence. if other factors are not taken into account, the assumption will not hold water.

Secondly, the author asserts that the economic and national identity are at stake due to the lack of banning on immigrants entry in a country. While it can be a factor of economic and national identity crisis, it is not the only reason behind it. A country's economy might be hampered due a devastating natural calamity. For example, Bangladesh has banned the entry of Myanmar and Indian people illegally from the borders near Chittagong and Dauki. In 2007, the law was strictly maintained but still the economic condition of Bangladesh was the worst in that year. That is because a massive hurricane named 'Sidor' attacked the coastal areas of Bangladesh. This example shows that stopping the entry of illegal immigrants isn't the only way to improve a country's economic conditions. If these other factors are not mentioned in the argument, it will lose its validity.

Lastly, the author mentions only about the downside of having immigrants. Sometimes, having some extra man power isn't always a cursed thing for a country. The illegal immigrants might be skilled at a certain job that can be beneficial for the country. For example, Germany always welcomes immigrants from other European countries because they know, with this man power, they can perform a great deal of work in the field of technology and automobile which is the current strong side of Germany. Given that, it can be safely stated that having illegal immigrants isn't always necessarily bad.

Some people may argue that Immigrants are the prime factors of the deterioration in economic and national identity of a country. While this claim is not entirely invalid based on the fact that there are actually previous records of bad effects of having immigrants. However, if the above mentioned facts are not stated clearly in the argument, the conclusion of the argument can never be properly evaluated.