The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is a very important quality for improving the socio-economic and other conditions in government, industry or any other field. In most of the parts of the world, young people are being taught the qualities for leadership from the tender age. Cooperation and competition, as stated in the prompt, both of them have some conducive and adverse effects on leadership. While most of the cases cooperation will help a leader to maintain better relationship with his alliances, competition is also needed sometimes to improve personally. So, it is too far to state that the best way to prepare young people as a leader is to teaching them how to be cooperative rather than be competitive.

Leadership in any part of the society or nation requires some basic qualities to be inherited in the person who is in charge. A person who is farsighted, insightful, efficient and energetic is the most suitable person to be a leader. However, in order to be a leader, he needs to have the sense of cooperation too. A sense of helping others in their needs will make them a great person in the eyes of the helped. however, the degree of cooperation varies contingent upon different factors. For instance, a developed country like the United States doesn't need immense help from other countries in order to flourish itself. In stead, the leader of the United States can easily help other developing countries to improve their condition. In this instance, cooperation will lead to the prosperity of the country and their government.

While this is the case of US, this is not true for the developing country like Bangladesh. Bangladesh is a third world developing country with so many problems ahead of them to solve if it wants to shine as a developed country, In this case, if the leader of Bangladesh doesn't have the sense of competition, he will lag behind in the race of getting more help from the developed countries. For example, the Garment sector in Bangladesh is so developed that Bangladesh exports clothing to other developed countries and it is one of the most important source of foreign revenue for Bangladesh. In this example, if Bangladesh doesn't constantly compete with other countries in order to improve their garment qualities, it can never be so much prominent in this field. Only the notion of cooperation will not be beneficial in this instance.

If we think individually, a person can improve his abilities and qualities mostly by comparing with others. If a person wants to become the leader of the country, he must have to compete with other potential candidates. As a result, if he only thinks about being helpful to others and doesn't have the sense of competition in himself, he will not be compatible with others in the race of becoming the leader of the nation.

However, the notion of competition alone can't bring good luck for a government, industry or other field. The youth of a country has to know the proper balance between cooperation and competition. In order to prepare a person for being a leader, a society should teach him or her the proper balance between cooperation and competition. Too much altruism or too much competitive nature, both of them can be harmful in the way of being an effective and proper leader .