The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author suggests that Autotech should set up their automobile maufacturing plant in the area of Hillview landfill in order to alleviate the unemployment problem of the area. He also suggests the City council to arrange a campaign to attract the company for setting up the plant. However, to properly evaluate this suggestion, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author indicates that prior to Autotech, a software programming company had an office in the Hillview landfill. By mentioning this, the author tried to express the potential job efficiency of the indigenous people of the area. However, expertise in a certain field of industry does not necessarily indicate expertise in other areas. People who are good with computers may or may not be good with automobiles and thus leads to a potential fallacy of the argument.

Secondly, nothing about the educational qualifications of the native people is mentioned in the passage. People living in that area might be unemployed due to their lack of education. Before setting up a plant and appointing people for this, the authority must train the people who will be working in the plant. Given that they might be uneducated, it will be a very tedious and time consuming job for the plant authority to teach the basics of automobiles. Moreover, nothing about the training facility is discussed in the passage.

Last of all, there is no mention of why the place is a perfect site for setting up an automobile plant in the area. The area might have some extra advantages which might attract Autotech to build their plant in that particular area but no such mentions have been found. This area might be a remote place where transportation system is very underdeveloped which might be the reason for the departure of Computech. If the transportation system is poor, Autotech will most likely hold them back from setting up a plant in this area irrespective of great tax incentives.

If the author can answer the above mentioned questions properly and show enough evidence regarding these, the argument can be evaluated with proper consideration.