The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Mayor is actively requesting an Automobile company to set up its manufacturing plant in his city in order to mollify the unemployment problem. He also offers significant tax incentives to the company in order to attract the company to the city of Hillview. Although the thought of the Mayor seems sagacious, there are many crucial considerations that the Mayor doesn't take into account before making such a recommendation.

First, the author believes that the Automobile Manufacturing plant will provide employment to substantial amount of people. However, the Mayor lacks vital key points while making such an assumption. What are the jobs that the company has to offer? Are the qualifications of the people of the Hillview city capable enough to get a job at the company? Will the new company be able to provide a fair remuneration to the people? There are many more questions which have to be answered before making such a recommendation. There has to be some background information about the company that can ensure that the new company will be fair and not exploit the desperate citizens of the unemployed city.

Second, the author does not provide any logical reason to believe that the Automobile plant would be successful. Although the City council will contribute to provide some incentives and benefits to the company, there is no reason to believe that the venture will turn out to be a success. Furthermore, the computer business was not successful; then what makes the Automobile Manufacturing plant likely to be a success? Are there any major buyers of cars and automobiles around the city? Is there any transportation facility to easily disseminate the manufactured cars? The Mayor doesn't seem to consider such questions but the company will surely do. Tax benefits and government support isn't entirely capable to successfully run a business.

Finally, the author elucidates that thousands of citizens are unemployed after the computer programming company was abandoned. This implies that the majority of the citizens worked as a computer programmer or in a computer related field. Hence, they would be uninterested and unqualified to work for an Automobile company. Why would the automobile company hire the people who are not qualified for the job?

Therefore, in conclusion, the recommendation of the Mayor, although beneficial, is implausible and lacking serious viewpoints. The Mayor needs to consider the above raised questions and evaluate whether the recommendation holds. He could also find other ways to develop the city; such as inviting a computer company rather than an automobile company and this time learn from the previous mistakes so that the venture does not fail again.