An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author, through the claim, promotes the introduction of a newly developed millet supposedly concentrated with vitamin A. Also, it is assumed that the people of Tagus, an impoverished nation, whose population suffers from a deficiency of vitamin A, would readily adopt this newly developed breed of millet. The claim seems logical at an inchoate level, bolstered by the fact that the government is willing to provide subsidy to the farmers so as to grow the newly bred millet. However, the author has been inadvertently missing out some indispensable key points which he should consider before asserting the claim.

Firstly, it is assumed that the newly bred millet will be the source of vitamin A to the people of Tagus, which was supposedly absent prior to the discovery. On the other hand, this new breed of millet isn't the only product that could serve as a supplement for vitamin A. There are innumerable other grains and fruits that could be used to substitute the discovered breed of millet. The author simply assumes that there is no other source of vitamin A which is preposterous and even peevish.

Secondly, the author ignorantly assumes that the farmers will develop a penchant to grow the new breed simply because the government provides subsidy for the seeds. Seeds are not the only thing that characterizes the cost of growing a particular grain. There are other factors such as the type of land, the atmosphere, the weather and the amount of water and fertilizers the new plant would consume. Also, the farmers tend to be conventional and most likely would not like to risk themselves, just because the government is ready to provide a subsidy. The government needs to provide a better incentive or a better understanding of the benefits that could result due to the implementation of such a policy.

Finally, it is believed that since millet is a staple food in the indigenous regions, the native people would have a penchant for the new breed of millet. However, it is also plausible that the people would not adopt it at all, since the seed is from an international development organization which they might have never heard of.

From all the above arguments it can be concluded that the author needs more concrete incentives to make his claim plausible. He needs to provide evidence suggesting that the newly developed millet is the best among the various other vitamin A options. Also, there has to be a sufficient dissemination of information among the farmers to indicate the benefits of the new millet in their diet.