The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author through the passage elucidates that humans must not be sent to space because it is utterly precarious and dangerous.The claim is further bolstered by the instance of recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites. On a rudimentary level, the claim does seem plausible, after all if the useful information is gathered without the astronomical costs and risks, why would one try to send men to space? However, upon comprehensive scrutiny, it is conspicuously deductible that the claim misses certain key aspects in order to make it plausible.

Firstly, the author assumes that if the recent series of space expeditions were successful, then the future missions would be successful as well. However, it is highly unlikely for a space exploration mission to be successful,especially without humans. Space expedition is a very recondite and erudite subject which involves a plethora of factors upon which the success of a particular program or mission depends. The mission results into success only if all or atleast most of the innumerable factors prevail in the favour of the planned process. Hence, to assume a success in future based upon recent results would be quixotic.

Morevoer, the author believes that unmanned space flights can provide the useful information, without the costs and the risks associated with sending humans into space. The author does dilineate that a great deal of information is obtained, but is this the information that was actually required? Is this information enough to justify the high costs of space expeditions? Also, when it comes to space exploration, it is not always about the information, rather the interpretation of the information, that is utterly significant in making groundbreaking revelations.

Finally, the author also assumes that investing into unmanned space flight will result into increasing the possibility of success of such missions. However, money isn't the only resource that is of prime importance; instead the ingenuity of human caliber is a more likely resource to achieve success.