The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

In the argument, the speaker states that we should make investment on the development of unmanned space flight. To bolster this, the speaker cites the disadvantages associated with manned space flight and asserts that a series of unmanned space equipment and facility have not shown the costs and risks that exist in manned space flight. However, the argument is tenuous in several aspects.space">

one of the major problem is that the reliability of the assumption ‘manned space flight is costly and dangerous’. In the statement, the speaker does not mention any concrete data for the expenses or any specific evidence of safety issue related with a manned space ship. it is entirely possible that the speaker makes this assertion because he or she is from a company who specialized in unmanned technology. thus, the speaker’s intention might be to attract more investment for the company by deliberately creating a biased idea of unmanned version is better. Moreover, even if manned space flight is expensive and perilous, how can we know that the unmanned space ship is not? it is possible that the unmanned space flight is even more costly since the technology required to build such gigantic thing is more advanced and maybe more technicians are needed.space">

The speaker also unfairly assumes that the probes, satellites and space ship are the same thing. even though unmanned probes and satellites might associated with less drawbacks compare with the manned ones, what about the unmanned space flight? The speaker also mentions the unmanned equipments’ ability to gather a great deal of useful information. but this does not mean that space flight without man’s manipulation also owns the ability to collect beneficial informations. it is possible that human controlled space flight can be even more potent in the ability of obtaining credible information. because when astronomers are physically in space, they can immediately react to emergent problems and fix them then continue their information gathering whereas if a technical problem occurred with the unmanned space ship, nobody is there to repair, which means that trip will be bootless.space">

Last but not least, the speaker unjustifiably make the assumption that a series of recent success of unmanned space flight proves that it is better. what is the exact number defined by the word ‘a series of’? it is possible that the number of success has been achieved by manned space ship is significantly larger than that of the unmanned space ship. what’s more, the recent achievements cannot be use to infer that manless technology will be problem-free in the future. thus, before making suggestion that unmanned space flight worth more investment, the speaker should conduct a deeper and more thorough research about the unmanned technology.