Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

it is being stated that the government should offer college and university education free for all students. however, there are some advantages and disadvantages associated with this policy.

there is no deny that once education can be provided free of charge, students with financial difficulties will be greatly benefited. college and university education has one of the most important role in one’s life. however, in countries where the economic condition is poor, families are not able to afford the tuition for their children to go to school, thus the children’s average education pursue will stop at middle school. without education, young people will have less opportunities to broaden their knowledge and widen their sight. Moreover, the probability that they could find decent jobs in the future is also largely reduced. Furthermore, a country’s future development in various fields such as economy and science is also significantly dependent on the education level of younger generations. thus, by reducing the financial burden for those who cannot afford the tuition, not only more people are able to expand their knowledge, but the country can also gain benefits from the higher educational level of its population.

however, once the education is offered without any charge, some students might start to slight this learning opportunity. When things become free, it becomes harder for people to cherish it. there is possibility that some will begin to skip classes and do not take their responsibility as students seriously. this will lead to a higher school drop-out rate because students might have always cheated on their assignments but could not pass the final exam for the courses. also once the government take the financial burden to offer free education, there will be less budget available to spend on other pressing issue such as hunger and provision of health care.

In conclusion, everything is a double-edged sword. The governments should take comprehensive considerations and evaluations about all possible positive and negative effect the free education might have on the country and the students, and they should also consider the condition of their budget before making a decision.