Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is the light of learning which has enlightened the human kind and it is because of the ability of human to harness and profess this power that the human race has been able to drive itself miles ahead from the prehistoric stone age. Education is the backbone of development of any country. The government of any nation takes charge of its education system and embrace the duty to accord its citizen with the right to education. A large sum of annual budget is allocated each year for the education sector in order to improve the quality of education and to organize the education system around the nation. Although a large share of annual budget is left for the education sector, it is not fruitful to offer college and university education free of cost to each and every students.

A huge share of budget in education is disbursed in various activities like building infrastructures, running administration, research and extensions, likewise and so on. The cost of graduating a single student requires a substantial sum and taking this economic burden of hundreds and thousands of students annually may be far too much for the government : especially in the case of developing countries like Nepal, it would prove to be too much of economic burden to take. The government may be obliged to invest on the students if there is the guarantee of best possible outcome from the part of student. However, given that every student may produce the expected progress and result, it would prove to be far riskier to invest on such students.

In spite of the far reaching consequences and implications, in my country, the government is not placid in supporting its students. In order to motivate the students of rural areas to go to school, the government have indeed made primary and secondary education free of cost. Similarly, in case of supporting graduate students, various scholarships have been provided to the students who are elected from the competitive examination. For example - government provide scholarships for the prospective students of MBBS based on their merit in competitive entrance examination. This not only supports the students but also aid to the screening of best and diligent students who will ensure positive progress and results and help to prove the investment of the government to be fruitful.

At last, it may not be practical to offer the college and university education to all of the students, however the government can screen the best performing students and aid them in order to motivate them academically and financially.