The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Recently, business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurant has stated in a memorandum that the change from butter to margarine had little impact on the costumer. However, this assertion from the business manager is based on several unwarranted assumptions and several loopholes are their which can prove his assertion into a mere speculation.

The business manager has based his assertion on the fact that only 2 percent of the costumer has complained about the change. However, question can be raised over the dubious nature of this premise and also of its authenticity as the manager has not further elaborated on the subject matter. The manager has not mentioned about the number of costumers that have been asked or interviewed about the change. If the number of respondents are small then the result can be skewed and thus the conclusion may become invalid. Similarly, the data cannot be amplified to address the whole costumers of the restaurant unless a certain threshold number of costumers are surveyed.

Similarly, questions can be raised about the complaint addressing section of the restaurants. What if there are no personnel in the restaurant who are responsible for addressing complaints from the costumers. The servers may not be too overly concerned about the complaints and thus they may easily ignore those complaints. If that is the case then, the complaints of the majority of the costumers would render unnoticed.

Another probable case would be linked with the composition of the margarine. The manager have stated that the costumer were not able to distinguish butter from margarine or use the term butter for both. However, the composition of the margarine may be similar and the cost of margarine may be higher than the regular butter. If this is the case than they may get satisfied with the change to margarine.

At last, the business manager needs to workout on details of the survey of the costumers, the complaint section of the restaurants and composition of the margarine before arriving to his assertion.