"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Recently, business manager of a television station has urged to restore the time devoted to weather and local news as was in the past year to avoid losing revenues and attract more viewers to the program. However, the assertion made by the business manager is rather unwarranted and there are several underlining flaws that he undermined before asserting his recommendation.

The assertion made by the business manager is based on the assumption that the viewers are attracted by the weather and local news. However, this lacks depth and there is no certainty that restoring the length of the local and weather news will attract the viewers. There may have been shift in the preference of the views to other news like sports and entertainment. If that is the case, then restoring the length of local news would have minimal impact to attract those who prefer sports and entertainment related news.

Similarly, the business manager has assumed that the complaints about the reduced length of local and weather news have decreased the viewers of the program. However, certain survey or related studies should have been done in order to analyze whether the number of viewers has actually decreased due to the reduced length of local and weather news. The result from the survey would have helped to analyze the trend of viewers in last year.

The business manager has assumed that local advertisers have cancelled their contract due to the decreased length of the local news in the late night news program. However, this assertion is unwarranted. The advertisers may have found better options elsewhere which may have lead to the contract termination. There may be rival TV channels who might have offered better price and option for the advertisers than his TV channel, so restoring the length of the local news may not be enough for the advertisers to be attracted to his TV channel. Rather, he must ensure other factors that may have played role in the termination of contract and then make necessary adjustment to check and even attract further investors.

Hence, there is the concern of contract termination and growing agitation of the viewers. But, there must be further study to actually analyze the issue in depth. In order to ensure that no further revenues are lost and likewise increase the viewers count, further more attractive options in preference of viewers and advertisers are to be found and direly implemented.