The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The assertion made by Dr. Karp that the interview-centered method would establish more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in the island of Tertia is flawed and based on many unwarranted assumptions. There are certainly many holes in the contention which need to be addressed properly in order to get more lucid figure of the matter in hand.

The initial assertion of Dr. Karp about the invalidity of the result of Dr. Field is based on the flawed assumption that the social and child rearing system had remain unchanged during the period of twenty years. Twenty years is a long duration and changes may occur within that society which may have altered the finding between two anthropologists. What if the trend in the child rearing has been changed over due to certain social circumstances which may have resulted newer trend. If this is the case then, both of them might be true and the findings of Field would also be valid. So, there should have been more in-depth analysis of the changes in the social trends over the twenty year period in Tertia to charge the previous finding to be invalid.

Similarly, Dr. Karp has based his assertion on interview with the children. There is no detail information about the interview schedule being applied in his observation. The children age group is also not mentioned in the argument and the types of question asked to them is also unclear. What if the children are below the age of ten and they do not respond to each and every questions of the interviewer. This may well, certainly deviate the results of the study. Similarly, the children that Dr. Karp observed are now no more children after twenty years. So the subject of the observation during Karp`s time and the subjects of interview of Field`s time may well lead into two disparate results and conclusion.

However, what Dr. Field should have done is that he should have put some extra work on developing a proper interview schedule and the should have explained about the types of questions being asked and the group of children being asked in the study to provide more accurate resolution of the child rearing trend in the island of Tertia. Similarly, he should have interviewed the grown ups subjects from the time of Dr. Karp in order to explicitly depict the difference in the results of Karp and his own to render the previous result invalid.

Coming to the conclusion, the interview-centered method may duly be the better and more accurate method, but in order to reach this conclusion, further analysis about the overall methodology, effectiveness and validity of the method is to be ascertained.