The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author in his letter to the editor of the West Lansburg News has made an assertion to fend off the proposal of building a new road along the coastal region in order to preserve the region`s biodiversity and ensure healthy environment. The contention of the author, however, is rife with many unwarranted assumptions and loopholes. In order to provide more credibility to the assertion he probably need to address several other necessary evidence which can silence the doubters of his contention.

The author of this letter has based his claim on the assumption that the population of tufted groundhog in this particular sanctuary would be equally and similarly affected as in the case of sea otter`s population in the neighboring sanctuary. However, the author has failed to mention the specific cause behind the decline in the population of sea otter in the neighboring sanctuary. He has mentioned that the sea otter`s population has been declined after the sanctuary status was repealed. Similarly, there is no any inkling in his whole assertion that the similar fate is imminent in the case of West Lansburg sanctuary. Only the proposed construction of road is mentioned by the author which cannot ensure that the tufted groundhog`s population will be declined.

Moreover, the author has based his assertion in the assumption that the construction of road will undoubtedly lead to the negative impact on the groundhog and and the region`s biodiversity. However, there are no such evidence to back those claim which certainly lead this claim to be unwarranted. What the author must have done is that, he should have collected necessary details or any research findings which would depict clearly that the construction of road will negatively impact the overall biodiversity of the sanctuary. Lack of such clear cut evidence will only prove to weaken the assertion of the author.

Similarly, the author has pledged for restricting the new road to be build in the sanctuary. What if the road to be build has passed all its precautionary measures and environmental impact assessment and hence, rendered as to pose no any serious threat to the environment and biodiversity. If that is the case then, the claim of the author will be in vain and serve no useful purpose in the eye of the council.

Coming to the conclusion, the author of the letter need to elaborate on several key aspects of his assertion - the impact of the new construction on the biodiversity, related evidence of negative impact of road construction on the groundhogs population and evidence to support the road construction negative impact on the biodiversity, in order to strengthen his claim and render his assertion factual, and not merely speculation.