Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

School is a holy ground for each and every students, be it a small kid at kindergarten or a post grad pursuing the doctoral degree. School is the place where we get the light of education and it acts as a moulder which eventually shapes our knowledge, behaviour and personality. every school`s aim is to confer its student best experience of learning - not merely for the sake of passing the final exams. Thus, every school, beside the usual task of academic activities, keep extra curricular activities in top priority to aid in overall development of its students. Extra curricular activities such as sports, arts, annual functions and so on not only aid as a break the redundancy of academic activities, but also serve as a platform for the students to discover their hidden talents. Hence, these activities are not to be subjected to alteration when it comes to aid for the other tasks of school as repair and maintenance.

Extra curricular activities are incorporated in the academic calendar of most of the schools and budget is likewise allocated. However, the budget for extra curricular activities must not be cut to fund for any other repair activities. The repair cost of any building constitutes a substantial amount and if these sum are to be allocated by cutting the fund for extra curricular activities, then it may alter the whole academic calendar. It can be further substantiated by what happened in my school when I was in tenth grade. At that time, my school had a new block to be build beside its primary block and since the cost required was huge, school administration had to cut off all other extra curricular activities for that year to fund the repair task. There was no any functions or sport event in that year and probably, it was the worst year I have had in my entire school life. Moreover, many students were refrained from participating in nationwide and district level competition due to lack of fund. Thus,it had terrible impact on the dynamics of whole year.

However, there are certainly a lot of alternative way in which the school can appropriate the required budget for funding the repair task. Various fund raising programmes, exhibition, cultural shows and concert can be organized for fund raising. This will not only aid the school administration, but all the students as a whole as this opens way for more extracurricular events. Similarly, another way could be asking for donation. There are indeed, if not many, few who are generous to aid the school. Certainly, from among the parents of students the donation can be obtained which can help the administration to fulfill their goal without altering the academic calendar.

Finally, the repair and maintenance may be pressing issue, there are rather imaginative way to allocate fund other than cutting the fund from the extracurricular activities which every administration ought to abide by.